Series 3 - Awards

Identity area

Reference code

DE 2324 P-MAT-B-3




  • 1990 - 2018 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Four boxes of mixed medium certificates (scrolls, wood and brass, paper).

Context area

Name of creator


Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

This series contains 17 awards and honorary degrees conferred upon Mattaj during his time as Director General of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, along with related correspondence.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

The awards are catalogued in chronological order:

1990 FEBS
1999 Royal Society of London
1999 Academiae Europaea
2001 Japanese Biochemical Society
2001 Prix Louis Jeantet de Medecine
2002 American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2006 Heidelberg Club International
2008 Deutsche Akademie Leopoldina
2010 University of Edinburgh
2010 Feldberg Foundation
2010 'Premio Città di Firenze sulle Scienze Molecolari'
2012 University of Dundee
2013 University of Umeå
2016 Academy of Medical Sciences (London)
2017 National Academy of Sciences of the USA
2017 Izmir International Biomedicine and Genome Institute
2018 University of Leeds

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

    Script of material

      Language and script notes

      Physical characteristics and technical requirements

      Finding aids

      Allied materials area

      Existence and location of originals

      Existence and location of copies

      Related units of description

      Related descriptions

      Notes area

      Alternative identifier(s)

      Access points

      Subject access points

      Place access points

      Name access points

      Genre access points

      Description control area

      Description identifier

      Institution identifier

      Rules and/or conventions used


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation revision deletion




          Accession area